subscribe: Posts | Comments

New European Commission announced


VeraOny nine women: 19 men.

The good news is that one woman takes up the new position of Commissioner for Justice, Consumers and Gender Equality.

Following the European Women’s Lobby’s (EWL) continued 50:50 campaign for gender equality on the new European Commission, some celebration was in order when Jean-Claude Juncker, the president-elect of the European Commission, announced the appointment of Věra Jourová as the new Commissioner for Justice, Consumers and Gender Equality.

In his mission statement to Jourová, Juncker wrote that part of her responsibility will be in ‘ensuring that, within the scope of EU competences, discrimination is fought and gender equality promoted, including by exploring how to unblock negotiations on the Commission proposal for the Horizontal Anti-Discrimination Directive’.

Many campaigners have said the appointment is not enough, particularly as the Commission is comprised of 19 male commissioners and only nine women.

And gender equality is only mentioned once, and briefly – see above – in Jourová’s list of responsibilities.

The EWL’s 50:50 campaign has already registered its dissatisfaction with the current make-up of the European Commision, and will continue to press for more rapid change, particularly among those countries, including Croatia, Estonia, Finland and Hungary, who have never appointed a woman as a Commissioner.

Before her appointment as European Commissioner, Jourová was the Czech minister for regional development.

The nine women on the current European Commission are Federica Mogherini (Italy), Elżbieta Bieńkowska (Poland), Alenka Bratušek (Slovenia), Cecilia Malmström (Sweden), Kristalina Georgieva (Bulgaria), Margrethe Vetager (Denmark), Věra Jourová (Czech Republic), Corina Creţu (Romania), and Marianne Thyssen (Belgium).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *